UP BJP starts state unit's rejig

1 month ago 18
google news Flipboard

LUCKNOW: In a major move to spruce up the organization, the state BJP on Saturday constituted a new team of state unit's frontal organizations (Morchas) which work with different target groups. The re-constitution of the new team was due for more than a year.
The state party president Swatantra Dev Singh, on Saturday, appointed Pranshudutt Dwivedi as the state president of Yuva morcha. He was the state party secretary till now. OBC leader and Rajya Sabha member Geeta Shakya was appointed the state president of Mahila morcha. Mohanlalganj MP Kauhal Kishore has been reappointed as chief of SC/ST morcha.
The others who were appointed the state presidents of frontal organisations were Kameshwar Singh of the Kisan morcha, former MP Narendra Kashyap of the OBC morcha, Sanjay Gond of the ST morcha and Kunwar Basit Ali of the minority morcha. The other office-bearers to these morcha would be appointed now.
The state BJP has to revamp and rejig its frontal units before mid-July. The revamp would be done in a phased manner.
The office-bearers and the teams that work in the frontal units of the party are appointed for three years by the state party president. The teams are reshuffled with the new state party president assuming office. The current state party president, Swatantra Dev Singh, was elected as the state BJP chief in January 2020. The party insiders said that the revival of the units and the appointments of the new teams was delayed due to Coronavirus. The units had their old teams continuing in the office.
Now, eight months left for the state assembly elections, the party has to revive these units on top priority. The multiple morcha, prakoshth and vibhag of the state BJP, which a senior party functionary said are like "lateral appendages or limbs" of the party, work to increase the party's reach among specific communities of people and, at the same time, forward the ideology of the party, promote its good work and combat negative publicity.
The state unit of BJP has set a deadline to reconstitute these units by mid-July. There are seven morchas, 17 prakoshth and 28 vibhags of the state BJP. Each has its role defined. The seven morchas work among youth, women, OBC, minority, SC, ST and farmers. Similarly, the prakoshth works with lawyers, weavers, cultural artists, fishermen, traders and other communities. The vibhag, on the other hand, includes the party's IT cell, media cell, campaigns like Swachhta Abhiyan and Namami Gange, disaster management cell and similar others.
Each of these units have a full-fledged team with president, vice president, secretary and members at the state and district level. These units help the party not only reach out to more and more people but also keep its committed workers within the fold as many of the party workers vie for the posts in these units. As has been in the past, at least 60% of the team members are retained and the rest are replaced.


  1. Homepage
  2. India