Srinagar mayor loses trust vote, removed from post

1 year ago 58
google news Flipboard

SRINAGAR: Srinagar Municipal Corporation (SMC)

mayor Junaid Azim Mattu

was removed from the post after he lost the no-confidence motion on Tuesday, with 40 of SMC’s 70


voting against and two in favour of him during a special session, which was presided over by deputy mayor Pervez Qadri.
One surprise element in the day’s proceedings was that four out of National Conference (NC)’s 11 corporators voted against Mattu violating the party whip, while all 17 Congress corporators didn’t participate in the special session, which was called after majority of SMC members moved the no-confidence motion against Mattu, a People’s Conference functionary. The other seven NC corporators abstained from voting. Others who also abstained from voting are three Independents and Qadri, who could not vote as he was presiding over the special session.
“The vote of 'No Confidence Motion' against me, and the @JKPC_ (Jammu and Kashmir People's Conference) has been passed in the SMC with 42 votes out of 70. The @BJP4India, @JKNC_ (Jammu and Kashmir National Conference) and some independents have polled against the @JKPC_ and @INCIndia abstaining whip where 28 Corporators abstained (sic),” Mattu said in a series of tweets.
“I respect the verdict of the Corporation,” he said.
Mattu, who had survived a no-confidence motion in the past, claimed the


and the NC have joined hands in Srinagar.
“The seemingly unthinkable seems to have happened as @JKNC_ and @BJP4India have come together in Srinagar. But more on that later,” he said, adding: “Time to spend some time with my family after nearly four months of our war against #COVID19 (sic).”
Mattu said he is taking the verdict with humility and his chin up.
“For those who know me - they would know that I take this verdict with humility and my chin up! I am committed to serving the people of Srinagar to the best of my abilities now and also in the future,” he said.
SMC authorities will announce dates for election of a new mayor soon, official sources said.
Meanwhile, NC expelled the four corporators who defied its whip and voted in the no-confidence motion.
“NC had announced and directed its Corporators to abstain from participating in No-Confidence motion in SMC. The four corporators out of our 11 who voted in this vote of no confidence are hereby expelled from the party. They are GN Sofi, Neelofar, Danish Bhat and

Majid Shulloo

,” party said in a tweet. It was later re-tweeted by NC vice-president Omar Abdullah.

  1. Homepage
  2. India