After HC ruling, seven Manipur MLAs can't vote in Rajya Sabha election

1 year ago 63
google news Flipboard



HC on Monday barred seven Congress MLAs who had switched over to the ruling BJP in 2017 from entering the state legislative assembly until their disqualification cases are disposed of by the speaker's tribunal.
With this verdict, the seven MLAs will not be able to cast their vote in the upcoming

Rajya Sabha polls

on June 19, political analysts said. The seven MLAs - S Bira, Ginsuanhau, Oinam Lukhoi, Ngamthang Haokip, Yengkhom Surchandra , Kshetrimayum Biren and Paonam Brojen Singh - who won on Congress tickets in the 2017 state assembly polls had defected to BJP and helped formation of the coalition government led by the saffron party.
The order followed a bunch of miscellaneous applications and petitions filed by the opposition Congress MLAs, asking the court to ban the seven defectors from entering the assembly premises, case dossiers read.
The high court, headed by Justice Kh Nobin Singh, ruled that unless and until the petitions are decided and disposed of finally by the speaker, the seven MLAs are "restrained from entering the Manipur Legislative Assembly, Imphal." "The Hon'ble Speaker,

Manipur Legislative Assembly

is directed to ensure compliance of this order by all concerned," the judgment added.
Full report on

  1. Homepage
  2. India